Home » Our Faith

Mass Schedule

St. Polycarp, Smyrna DE
(302) 653-8279
Saturday – 4:00 pm
Sunday – 10:30 am
Weekday Mass – 8:30 am, Tuesday & Wednesday
Confessions – Saturdays, 2:30 pm – 3:30 pm

St. Dennis, Galena MD
(410) 648-5145
Sunday – 8:00 am
Sunday – 11:00 am (Spanish)
Weekday Mass – 8:30 am, Thursday & Friday
Confessions – Sundays, 7:00-7:30 am


DE Home for the Chronically Ill (DHCI):
Communion Service – 3rd Tuesday at 10:30 am
Communion Service – 1st Wednesday at 1:15 pm

Parish Contact

55 Ransom Lane,
Smyrna, Delaware 19977

Parish Office : (302) 653-8279
Email: office@saintpolycarp.org

Religious Education: (302)653-4101
Email: dre@saintpolycarp.org

Our Faith

The Nicene Creed                                   

I believe in one God, the Father almighty,
maker of heaven and earth,
of all things visible and invisible.
I believe in one Lord Jesus Christ,
the Only Begotten Son of God, born of the Father before all ages.
God from God, Light from Light, true God from true God,
begotten, not made, consubstantial with the Father;
through him all things were made.
For us men and for our salvation he came down from heaven,
and by the Holy Spirit was incarnate of the Virgin Mary, and became man.
For our sake he was crucified under Pontius Pilate, he suffered death and was buried,
and rose again on the third day in accordance with the Scriptures.
He ascended into heaven and is seated at the right hand of the Father.
He will come again in glory to judge the living and the dead and his kingdom will have no end.

I believe in the Holy Spirit, the Lord, the giver of life,
who proceeds from the Father and the Son,
who with the Father and the Son is adored and glorified,
who has spoken through the prophets.

I believe in one, holy, catholic and apostolic Church.
I confess one Baptism for the forgiveness of sins
and I look forward to the resurrection of the dead
and the life of the world to come. Amen.

The Precepts of the Church are
attending Mass on Sundays and Holy Days of Obligation, and resting from unnecessary work on these days,
observing the days of abstinence and fasting (all Fridays in Lent as well as Ash Wednesday and Good Friday),
confessing your sins to a priest (at least once a year),
receiving the Eucharist at least once a year during the Easter Season, and
contributing to the support of the Church.

The Beatitudes (Matthew 5:3-10) are
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.
Blessed are those who mourn, for they will be comforted.
Blessed are the meek, for they will inherit the earth.
Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they will be filled.
Blessed are the merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
Blessed are the pure in heart, for they will see God.
Blessed are the peacemakers, for they will be called sons of God.
Blessed are those who are persecuted because of righteousness, for theirs is the kingdom of God.

The Corporal Works of Mercy are
feeding the hungry,
giving drink to the thirsty,
clothing the naked,
sheltering the homeless,
comforting the prisoners,
visiting the sick, and
burying the dead.

The Spiritual Works of Mercy are
teaching the ignorant,
praying for the living and the dead,
correcting sinners,
counseling those in doubt,
consoling the sorrowful,
bearing wrongs patiently, and
forgiving wrongs willingly.

The Ten Commandments are
1. I am the Lord your God; you shall not have other gods before me.
2. You shall not take the name of the Lord in vain.
3. Remember to keep holy the Sabbath day.
4. Honor your father and mother.
5. You shall not kill.
6. You shall not commit adultery.
7. You shall not steal.
8. You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor.
9. You shall not covet your neighbor’s wife.
10. You shall not covet your neighbor’s goods.

The Stations of the Cross are
First Station Jesus Is Condemned To Death
Second Station Jesus Accepts His Cross
Third Station Jesus Falls For The First Time
Fourth Station Jesus Meets His Afflicted Mother
Fifth Station Simon of Cyrene Helps Jesus Carry The Cross
Sixth Station Veronica Offers Her Veil To Jesus
Seventh Station Jesus Falls For The Second Time
Eighth Station Jesus Speaks To The Women Of Jerusalem
Ninth Station Jesus Falls For The Third Time
Tenth Station Jesus is Stripped Of His Garments
Eleventh Station Jesus Is Nailed To The Cross
Twelfth Station Jesus Dies On The Cross
Thirteenth Station Jesus Is Taken Down From The Cross
Fourteenth Station Jesus Is Laid In The Sepulcher

The Seven Deadly Sins are
envy, and